Top Reads

Hey guys! I hope all of you had a beautiful Easter! We apologize for abandoning you for so long! Lent just got surprisingly busy surprisingly fast!

Today I put together a list of all my favorite books. Some of them are old favorites and others are new from this year!

FullSizeRender

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown~ My dad received this book, several years ago, for Christmas. My brother and I claimed it as our own, though, after reading it. The story of how the USA Olympic team won the gold for rowing at the 1936 Olympics is strangely moving. The focus of the story is rower Joe Rantz and how he overcome poverty, abandonment, and animosity and made the Olympic team.

The Odyssey by Homer~ I had to read this book for Literature this year. I’d already known the basic story; Odysseus trying to get home and overcoming all sorts of obstacles over a length of ten years, but I hadn’t realized that there is a lot more depth to the story. This book is definitely worth reading, however, it is a hard read. It may be a while before I read the whole thing again. 😉

The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Spear~ Some of you might remember that Hannah, also, mentioned this as one of her favorites in a earlier post. This book is wonderful and Katherine, the heroine,  and Nat are wonderful together!

FullSizeRender (1)

The Little Red Guard by Wenguang Huang~ This modern autobiography isn’t a very fun book instead it’s interesting. The author describes his childhood growing up in communist China and the impact the political situation had on his family’s life.

Enemy Brothers by Constance Savery~ One of the biggest reasons I like it so much is the time period; World War ll in England! This book is an old, old, old favorite! I used to get banned from reading this book when I was little because I read it so much! The copy my family has is practically falling apart!

Betsy and Joe by Maud Heart Lovelace~ This book is actually part of a series, all of which I love! This one is my favorite, though. The focus of the story is set in a high school in a small town of Minnesota during the earlier 1900’s. Joe is slightly annoying at times but Betsy makes up for him!

FullSizeRender (2)

The Borrowed House by Hilda van Stockum~ Here’s a second World War ll story. This book takes a slightly different view point then the last one, placing the story in Holland from the perspective of a German girl raised in Nazi Germany.

 

 

I hope you decide to read some of these books for yourself sometime! I promise you that they are well worth your time! See you next time!

~Anna

One thought on “Top Reads

Comment

