A note from Becca, a girl filled with ambitions.

Hi, my name’s Becca, and I’m guest writing today. I’m another 13-year-old bookworm, love to write, and literally breathe sarcasm. If the National Sarcasm Society was a real thing, I’d join it. (For those unbelievers, like we need your support.) Today I’m gonna talk about aspirations and convincing yourself to actually follow them.

You know those things you’ve always dreamed of doing, like writing a book, directing a play, starting a blog, drawing a picture book?

Yeah, those things. Do them.

Instead of trying to convince you and give you the whole it-will-totally-change-your-life pep talk, I’m going to share my own story.

I’ve wanted to write a novel since age seven or so. I suppose you could call it a craze. I’ve started multiple projects and never finished them.

This year, something was different. I had a change in mindset. Hold onto your seats.

I’ve decided to myself that pursuing my dream of writing a book held more importance with me than the fear of myself not being good enough to do it or finish it or whatnot did. I threw that fear in the rubbish heap and took a plunge.

Almost 20,000 words of my novel later, I regret nothing. Heck, I want to finish this book. Get it published. That will be my next dream, I can tell you that much.

What I’m telling you to do today is to take that same plunge. Forget about that fear that you’re not good enough. That’s called insecurity, and believe me, if you can even fake that you’re confident in yourself, you’ll be able to pursue your dream. (Don’t try to tell me that you can’t fake it. You’d be a liar.) Take up your pen, grab your laptop, do whatever you need to, but sit down and start actively pursuing your dream.

I’m gonna end with a quote from C.S. Lewis, because the Chronicles of Narnia are great and all but I think some of his applicable-to-real-life quotes are even better.

becca posta

 

4 thoughts on “A note from Becca, a girl filled with ambitions.

  1. Pingback: Where did that darn thing go?? Find out at The Three Musketters! | The 3 Musketeers

Comment

